After spending the dying weeks of last year studying the topic, I started 2012 diving headlong into the previously unfamiliar world of ayurvedia. I must admit to being consistent with this for the month of January, so first off, yaayy me!!! for keeping a commitment as time consuming as this one…the usual me would have lost zeal after a few days but I am determined to see some growth in 2012 for a change, so any remedy or suggestion that offers the hope of BSL for me this year will get my full attention and dedication till it is proven beyond doubt not to work for me!

One thing that seems to be happening is that my curl pattern appears to be changing. My hair seems somewhat straighter, especially around the circumference, and I’m still not sure if the herbs are responsible for this. I have asked around in several hair forums, and the only response I’ve got so far agreed that the herbs might be responsible:

me:

“…do you notice that ayurvedic herbs change your curl pattern? I have been using fenugreek, amla, brahmi and shikakai once a week since January 1st, and I think my hair is getting straighter. I have done some research and nobody seems to associate ayurvedic herbs with changing curl patterns…any thoughts?”
her:
Originally Posted by Lita View Post
“@princesskaha Hi! Yes, when I was using henna paste on a regular,I started to lose my curl pattern, my hair became stronger/thicker but I was losing my natural curl pattern…I started mixing Amala/Brahmi/little egg powders with cond,every week & my curl patten returned in about months time…..I stick with hibiscus, Brahmi,fennel & marshmallow root…With no problems…I do this 2xs month…*Try to limit your use to every other week or once a month & see what happens…”

I’m not too sure if it will be as effective if I use it less often, so I have decided instead to leave it in for shorter periods: instead of 4 to 6 hours, I will wash the paste out after 3 hours and check the results. Today was the last wash day for January 2012, and I think I have developed a regular pattern thus far. I am also improving on my heavy handedness such that I don’t drip so much anymore so that’s a good thing, but what will really make me happy is when I am able to finally find a streamlined list of treatments that work for me so that I can keep it real simple.

Despite the weird, lingering smells (at least to my nose!) which most of the ingredients exude, plus the length of time I have to spend rinsing everything out at the end, I think this regimen is a keeper. My hair really seems stronger. I really don’t know if it is making it any longer, or darker since I was told that amla helps darken hair, but I will give it some more time. I started using the herbs on January 1st, and I want to continue till June 30th, when I will assess the overall results of this entire experiment. Until that day I hope to keep up with this…and hopefully I can achieve that with no more complaining!!!!

